diy solar

diy solar

Solar subsystems for short-term power outages

scott c.

Hello,

I would like to get the group's input on a solar installation. I am completely new to solar. My goal is not to save money, or get entirely off of the grid just yet.

I simply want to be able to limp along during potential long-term power outages. Speaking of long, this is a long post. But I wanted to give everyone as much background as possible. Thanks for bearing with me.

I am of limited funds. So I am putting together small subsystems based on priority, adding them as money allows.

I plan to select components for each system from the same vendor for interchangeability. Solar is plentiful, limited only by crappy Ohio weather. I have diversified my emergency preparations and I can go without power if absolutely necessary. So I don't need to oversize it just yet. That comes later.

I can set up each system with a very short run. I plan to put them in secure housings attached to the outside of my home, one on the north, one on the south, and one on my garage.

I have two sources of heat. I have plenty of food, but I will need to keep it cold and prepare meals. But I will ask that question in another post as it is priority #2.

First, I want to take care of water and sanitation. I'm on bored well and septic so I am in good shape there. My well pump is ideally placed for solar. It sits on the north side of our house and gets plentiful sun. I want to put together a system that is capable of powering the pump, take short showers (cold water is a heck of a motivator), and an occasional use of the washing machine on its lowest setting (also without hot water).

I need 35 amp hours to keep water flowing, based on the pump specs and the cycle time. I have a 10 gallon bladder that I can pressure bleed to flush toilets overnight. This is a guesstimate as I have not measured the actual load, nor my wife's flush frequency.