diy solar

diy solar

Stuck in a Brain Loop of Indecision - Help Me Decide Please

MisterCookEMann

Should I buy a Bluetti AC200 to do the solar in my small camper?
- I like this idea because I have very little electrical experience, and this really simplifies solar for me.
- It also sounds like a pretty great product.

BUT,
- It only has a 2 year warranty on it. What happens if something breaks on the Bluetti and it's not under warrranty. Can I repair it on my own? Do they have a repair service? Can batteries be replaced in the Bluetti once it has been used up? Or do I have to replace the system every 4-5 years if i'm using it daily.

SO,
Should I just stick to building my own system? That way if one part breaks I don't have to replace everything. Something like below seems to be more than enough for my needs.
  • 200 watt Solar kit with 40a MPPT controller from Rich Solar
  • 2000 watt pure sine wave inverter
  • and a Battle Born 100ah 12v LiFePO4 Deep Cycle Battery

Help! Your knowledgeable ways will help break the stalemate. Thank-you!

Is it a choice between an all-in-one unit like a Bluetti or Goal Zero and separate off the shelf components? You are not considering a DIY battery build from raw cells?

I think it comes down to how much do you want to do yourself and save money and have the system configured exactly how you want it versus paying someone else to do all that and buying an all-in-one. Doing separate components will require more time and system design knowledge. Much of that design knowledge can be obtained by researching here or by following one of Will's blueprints (click here)