diy solar

diy solar

SunGold 6548 fault code 86

garetwo

I am an electrician and whether I should be posting in the beginner section, or a thread specific venue, is a quandary at times for me.

SunGold has been good at responding to emails with questions, I am sure I am testing their patience. I never asked about a warranty, so this is not a warranty thread, it is a thread to isolate the problem.

A friend is working toward getting off-grid. He had two SunPower 6548's that were working in parallel as utility assisted inverters He recently added two more 6548's (all are the older, lower voltage input models) as well as four 12.8v Jita 300ah batteries to the twelve he had connected. There was a lot of discussion on this battery arrangement already.

After connecting the four inverters and all of the batteries, things worked, but very briefly. As I was driving home, his power got "dirty" with motors sounding funny, etc. Ultimately, he lost power and all four inverters showed fault code 86 AND he cannot turn the inverters back on. We for sure had setting 28 at 2P1 and 2P2 (@180). Here is SunGold's answer to some questions and their troubleshooting sequence which we will do today. I have to drive up there, where they are running off of generator to part of the home - the bulk runs off the inverter outputs.

(after watching several videos) Questions and answers:

1. Though most cases show the inverters unable to run if only one of them is provided power, with four inverters, may we turn off all inputs and outputs to one inverter in each phase and just run two inverters (one on 2P1 and one on 2P2) without changing communication cables?
Or, must we reconfigure communication cables as if there are only two inverters?

2. May current sharing cables stay in place?

3. Should we feed utility AC in with single pole 60-amp breakers or should the breakers be 2-pole?

4. Should we feed AC out with single pole 60-amp breakers or should the breakers be 2-pole?