diy solar

diy solar

Tesla S batteries... Do you need a BMS?

BWilliamson

So, I've got a local guy here in FL selling solar systems/parts...

I'm still fairly new to this, and I wasn't thinking about these Tesla batteries, but considering the price and the kwh you get.. seems like a great deal.

So I've been researching these batteries, and I understand the need to manage the voltage!

That being said, I asked this guy if he has a BMS that's compatible, and he tells me you don't need one... hmmm

I'm hoping to use a hybrid inverter, so curious if anyone else has used a Tesla S battery without a bms, or should I say replacing the bms to work with an off grid system?

Thanks for any input or advice you might have!

Don't. Unless they're LFP, stay away from them. Especially if you're not 100% sure of what you're doing.
There are better, safer alternatives - and prices right now are dropping everywhere. You can get prismatic LFP cells to make your own battery packs, and they're not expensive: 280Ah+ 3.2V cells can be had for around $100.

So, I've got a local guy here in FL selling solar systems/parts...

I'm still fairly new to this, and I wasn't thinking about these Tesla batteries, but considering the price and the kwh you get.. seems like a great deal.

So I've been researching these batteries, and I understand the need to manage the voltage!

That being said, I asked this guy if he has a BMS that's compatible, and he tells me you don't need one... hmmm

I'm hoping to use a hybrid inverter, so curious if anyone else has used a Tesla S battery without a bms, or should I say replacing the bms to work with an off grid system?

Thanks for any input or advice you might have!
I assume AliExpress is the place to go?