diy solar

diy solar

The effects of how you ground

Arbee

I'm a newbie.

I own a Renogy DCC30S MPPT DC to DC charger. It's suppose to charge house and starter batteries from either a solar panel or an alternator.

Initially testing has found my house battery to not be charged more than 13.08Volts, despite proving out all the connections to be live. There could be many reasons why I see this low voltage, but I did configure the product for the house battery being Lithium, as the house battery is a Renogy 20 amp LiFePO4 with built in heater. Because voltage thresholds on the house battery aren't being met, no way will the product allow any of the solar power to also go into charging the starter battery.

I was thinking that the following mistake on my part might have significant consequences (or not?) and seek your opinion:

The conceptual diagram in the product's manual has all the negative/ground wires of the house and starter batteries, as well as that of the solar panel meeting at the one common ground terminal on the product. In the following video from Renogy though it is recommended that this common point where ground wires meet be the negative terminal of the house battery, and that one cable from the negative terminal of the house battery connect to the ground point on the product.

I will change this tomorrow. But could this be "a," if not the only problem?

Stupid me. Here I'm wondering how Renogy expects me to close the cover to this product with all these 3 negative cables meeting at the ground point on the product. No--clearly only one wire is suppose to attach to this grounding point on the product, and I am suppose to connect the other end of the cable to the negative terminal on the house battery, and have the starter battery and solar panel's grounds meet at this negative terminal on the house battery.