diy solar

diy solar

This is how you can use any LiFePo4 / Lithium battery single/multiple BMS(es) with any Inverter

@robby Yes, you and do that too, use your eFlex batteries on e.g. can0 and also hook up your EG3LL battery on can1 and hook up the inverter on can2. Or RS485 or whatever is supported by the inverter or EG4LL.
Great work my friend this is a fantastic piece of gear that was really needed.
Does your software support the BMS in the eFlex?

@Daddy Tanuki great, I found the ModBus specification here: https://www.morningstarcorp.com/wp-...-doc-tristar-mppt-modbus-specification-en.pdf
That should be enough to create a binding for the TriStar TS-MPPT-60. Daly BMSes are already supported.
So you would only hook up the Raspberry PI between the Daly BMS and the TriStar right?
well i need to get a raspberry pi first! ha ha ha. I am new to all of this so i will start looking into what i need as far as the raspberry pi. and move from there. anybody out there reading got a good tutorial?

well i need to get a raspberry pi first! ha ha ha. I am new to all of this so i will start looking into what i need as far as the raspberry pi. and move from there. anybody out there reading got a good tutorial?
Here's your shopping list :)
- Raspberry Pi 4B 4gb or 8gb (similar to that)
- Waveshare RS485/CAN (if your Daly has the CAN specifically!!! enabled)
or
-Waveshare 2-Channel RS485 (if you just have UART/RS485 on your Daly)
- 2 RJ45 network cables CAT5 or CAT6

The Raspberry PI is simply run from the SD card. You need to download the Raspberry PI Imager, plug the SD card in your PC and choose the Raspian OS 64bit to be installed on the SD card. Plug the SD card into your PI and boot. In the Terminal :
Code:
sudo apt update
sudo apt upgrade
sudo apt install default-jdk

Done.
The Waveshare RS485/CAN has a good Wiki explaining how to install, but I can assist you in that if you have questions.

Last edited:
Here's your shopping list :)