diy solar

diy solar

Top Balancing, Bottom Balancing, Active Balancing.......My Brain Hurts

ColeMan

I will be building a SunFunKits battery soon.
Their Version 1 kit required the cells to be top-balanced before building the kit.
I'm not set up with the equipment or knowledge for that.
The V3 kit, which is what I'm getting, comes with an active balancer.
Off-Grid-Garage-Andy said in his SFK video that he didn't like the active balancing.
Will Prowse said in a video concerning active
balancing that it is unnecessary in many situations.
I'm not a battery expert, and I don't necessarily want to become one.
I just want a good reliable LiFePO4 battery for my camper.
Build it, install it, and forget it.
What say you?

Last edited:

Then buy a pre-built battery and drop it in.

What say you?

Even with pre-built batteries "forget it" is no more true than it is for lead acid. If you "forget it" with lead acid, there's a good chance you're going to cut your battery life short.

Use the active balancer provided. Post a screen shot or list of the cell voltages at the top of the first charge cycle. May need to limit charging voltage until active balancer completes. If there are continued issues.... post it up.

Their Version 1 kit required the cells to be top-balanced before building the kit.

The knowledge is here. Just have to put a little time into reading and ask questions if you don't understand. If you don't want to put in that effort, I wouldn't recommend even bothering with anything. You need to be willing to understand what you're doing with anything, and this isn't a difficult thing to understand, really.

The equipment is not hard. Get a benchtop power supply and follow the top balance guide here.

Use the active balancer provided. Post a screen shot or list of the cell voltages at the top of the first charge cycle. May need to limit charging voltage until active balancer completes. If there are continued issues.... post it up.