diy solar

diy solar

Total Newb, so confused

edkruzel

Hello All,
I'm in the process of learning all I can about solar, but feel like this rabbit hole is spiraling. We have purchased raw land in East Texas and the past 3yrs have been clearing land and building roads. Our driveway is over a mile long, so getting on the grid doesn't make sense; off-grid solar seems most reasonable. Currently we have 30'x40' metal building, an RV, and most recently had a well installed. The well pump draws 6amp/220v and is roughly 160' deep. The end game is to build our retirement home (about 2yrs out). I've cleared an area 205yrds x 85yrds for the home and a solar field, but for now I think it may be best to run a stand alone solar to power the well. Powering the well and the RV would be even better, but simply replacing one generator would be a blessing. Any suggestions are deeply appreciated.

Personally, if I were starting from scratch, I would design the finished setup. Maybe after figuring out your load, you figure out you are going with a couple inverters in parallel. You can install one now and feed the minimum stuff you need now. Add to it as needed. Multiple setups for multiple areas seems like multiple issues to deal with.

It's a fairly simple process, but it's easy to get prematurely bogged down in details.

Step 1) Determine your available solar for your location.
Step 2) Conduct an energy audit and determine your energy needs, i.e., how many kWh/day do you need to supply.
Step 3) Design the system.

If you click Spoiler my signature, you will find links to PV Watts (available solar at your location) and an energy audit spreadsheet. Once populated, the spreadsheet calculates the major parameters, and you can then start selecting components.

A typical well pump has a surge 5X its run current at startup unless is is one of the few models like a Grundfos SQ pump.

It's a fairly simple process, but it's easy to get prematurely bogged down in details.