diy solar

diy solar

Hello from NE Texas

blrmaker

Good morning fellow enthusiasts. I wanted to introduce myself and thank you all for all the information you provide. I am very new to the PV world and learned what little I know from Will Prowse videos on youtube. We purchased a complete kit from Signature solar just over a year ago and I diy’d the system on my shop last spring.

Current set up: Complete kit from Signature Solar

2@ EG4 6500 EX 48’s
24@ Solarever 455W pv oriented in 4-6 panel strings facing south on metal shop roof using Snap-n-Rack racking.
6@ EG4 Lifepower 48v batteries in the provided server rack.

EG4 6500EX-48 Set up.jpg

So currently we are living in our 42’ toyhauler camper on the side of the shop while our new home is being built. The shop is 40’X60’ with a built-in climate controlled “bedroom” and bathroom. The shop is insulated with 1 large air conditioner/heater which we do not use. The “bedroom” has a single window ac unit. In the shop we have a 50-gallon hot water heater, 1 stand up freezer, 1 refrigerator, washer and dryer (240v), and an old range (240v) which are all electric. Included at the shop also is a 5hp well pump. The toyhauler is a 50 amp service with 2 air conditioners, 12 gallon hot water heater and a refrigerator. Included at the shop also is a 5hp well pump. I wired the AC input from the inverters into a 60 amp breaker in the sub panel. Outside the main panel only has a 4 spot breaker box which feeds the well pump, shop AC condenser, a 50 amp RV outlet and a 20 amp that I ran out for garden lighting.