diy solar

diy solar

Using 2 inverters for reliability

schuh8

I am a beginner at DIY solar and am planning my first installation. All is going well but having trouble finding out one aspect of the installation. I was using an inverter 30 years ago on a live aboard boat and found it to be very unreliable. I know inverters have improved vastly since then but I still want increased reliability. So with that background ... here's the question.

Can I parallel the output of 2 inverters if inverter one is connected to half the panels and inverter two is connected to the other half. Panels will all be identical and neither of the two strings subject to shading? Right now the inverters I'm considering are the Growatt 6kw grid tie inverters (MIN 6000TL-X).

I realize in the event one inverter go's out I will only have half my rated capacity (but half is better than nothing ... right ?) Are there any serious cons to doing it this way ?

Thanks in advance

All grid-tied inverters are paralleled on the outputs.
So the answer, is yes.
But they require a grid connection. Hopefully, this is not going on your boat.

Can I parallel the output of 2 inverters if inverter one is connected to half the panels and inverter two is connected to the other half.
I think its worth mentioning that you can only parallel the same brand, and model of inverters and most importantly they need to communicate with each other to mach phasing of the AC output. To put it more clearly, If you took a renogy inverter and paralleled the out put with an amazon special inverter, I would think that it would probably result in at the very least an unhappy inverter, but probably you would let the magic smoke out of both of them.

I am new at this and I hope I am wrong... But I currently dont think so.