diy solar

diy solar

What do I need for a Pre wire for solar backup system?

Jchance

I’m planning on having a small, 800 sqf, Amish Cabin built within the next 2 years. I want to eventually build a solar backup system myself, that will run the entire cabin. I’ve built a small solar system in my RV, so I have some basic knowledge, but for the next 1-2 years I will be coming back here for more!

Having said the above, when I order the cabin to be built, what would be the best thing to have the builder install to my 200 amp load center to accommodate my future solar system? I know I could ask for a transfer switch, but is there anything else I should have them install? Also, I would like specific make models of a transfer switch or any other device, if anyone has experience with them? My space will be very limited for the entire system, it might have to share a small utility closet, so size will matter!

thanks in advance!

I like main disconnect only, no branch breakers. Using Polaris lugs that can feed one or more sub-panels (assign one to critical loads, another to less important.)
This makes it easy to insert an inverter for backup.
Each sub-panel should have interlocked "generator" breaker so you can select grid or inverter.

Transfer switches are expensive. Interlocks are about $50, and branch breaker about $50 depending on amperage.
I use Square-D QO, which has copper busbars for 125A and larger panels. Homeline is aluminum, and interchangeable with a few other brands. There are some other brands with copper.

You can get "solar ready" panels with separate breaker, but be prepared to pay $thousands.

To save space, check out Midnight's offerings. They use Square D breakers in some boxes, and have interlocks for inverter bypass.

I like main disconnect only, no branch breakers. Using Polaris lugs that can feed one or more sub-panels (assign one to critical loads, another to less important.)
This makes it easy to insert an inverter for backup.