diy solar

diy solar

Which material should I choose for a DIY LiFePo4 Battery terminal

Aquivion

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner and i just build my own 12V LiFePo4 Battery with a BMS. I build a wooden box around it and i want to attach negative and positive terminals to it, so that it functions like a normal LiFePo4 battery you can carry around.

I ordered some terminals which are made out of brass and installed them. The terminals just consist of a M8 brass thread, some M8 brass nuts and some plastic coverage. Everything works fine with them but there is a question I have in mind which i would like clarification on.

Now i looked up the electric conductivity of brass and I found out that it is almost 4x less conductive than copper. Afaik materials with a low conductivity are heating up more because of the higher internal resistance. Please correct me if i'm wrong here.

Some reviews from other buyers of the terminals stated that the terminals are heating up a lot when going up around 150Amps, pretty much melting the plastic that surrounds it. Although the advertisement states that they should work for up to 200Amps.

Now my question is (ignoring the fact for now, that the material heats up more if it is less conductive):

Does having a brass terminal or even a steel terminal have any downside to the rest of the system? I mean does the low conductivity / high internal resistance of the terminal have any effect on the copper cables that are attached to it?

Should I choose a different material with a higher conductivity for the terminal?

My feeling tells me, that it should not have any effect on the systems that is attached to the terminal, but would just like to be sure about this.