diy solar

diy solar

Which MPP Solar model is better for my system?

AWD

Hi.There are so many of the MPP all in one models with variations, I am a little lost. Waiting to hear back from MPP Solar but would love some input here on the forum.

Trying to build a 5kWh off-grid system. Will be connecting 2 of the 24V in series LiFePO4 Powerwalls which are 3kWh each.

Just don't know for sure which MPP solar model is the best way to go? I am quite new at this. Looking at either 2 of these PIP 3048LV -MK X2 models wired together in parallel which gives 6KWh 48V or at Will Prowse's suggestion on his site, an LV5048 which is 5kWh at 48V. The reason I was considering the two units in parallel was that the cost is about the same and it looks like I get an extra 1kWh.

But honestly, there are so many variables here that I want to make sure I am covering my bases.

If you have any suggestions, by all means, they are welcome.

Also, I am wondering, do I just plug in a power strip into this inverter to get enough AC outlets? I am moving into a cabin that has no internal wiring or outlets (yet), and until that is done, I am going to need to power a bunch of things via AC.

Thanks!

Well I think you are misunderstanding those units, you don't get kwh from an inverter but from a battery, the inverter wattage its the max watt appliances you can keep working at the same time, with a greater inverter, you will get more continuous watts for your appliances, but the capacity of watts per hour is given by your batteries.

First, you need to know which voltage do you need, assuming its 110V I suggest the PIP 2424MSD 24V system unless you need a very big system, and I doubt it since you have only 2 batteries. You don't need to buy 2 units if you want more kwh, you have to get more batteries or solar panels if you want to get more kwh at daylight.