diy solar

diy solar

Who has experience with (blue) aluminum cells in a mobile system?

Dzl

Unofficial Forum Librarian & Perpetual Newbie
Staff member
I'm wondering if anyone has experience using aluminum lifepo4 cells in a mobile context, where road vibration, bumps, etc, are a factor. I'm especially curious whether anyone has used these cells in an overland build? How do they hold up? How does the quality of construction seem overall?

No experience, but going that way and have researched. Cell compression is important, in boats they advise rear of boat for less shocks. I'm not sure the best way to reduce shocks in travel in a RV, and if off roading and overlanding again packaging of the battery would be something I'd want to research. Might be better with hard plastic cases but I'm very new to all this and could be missing lots of info.

Reactions: Dzl
No experience, but going that way and have researched. Cell compression is important, in boats they advise rear of boat for less shocks. I'm not sure the best way to reduce shocks in travel in a RV, and if off roading and overlanding again packaging of the battery would be something I'd want to research. Might be better with hard plastic cases but I'm very new to all this and could be missing lots of info.

New or not, I appreciate the input, thanks!

edit: I'm looking at the same batteries from the same seller as you you also.

Last edited:
Consensus seems to be that the Al cells, while smaller and lighter, are not the best choice for off-road apps. Those tiny terminals, compared to bulkier plastic-housed cells, are spot welded and get hot. Terminals on Calbs, for example, are actually part of the casing and will hold up better in mobile applications.

Thank you this is helpful information!

Those tiny terminals, compared to bulkier plastic-housed cells, are spot welded and get hot. Terminals on CALBs, for example, are actually part of the casing and will hold up better in mobile applications.