diy solar

diy solar

Why does my battery have idle draw?

HylanderUS

Okay beginner here, I might be misunderstanding something so bear with me:
I built the milk crate system from one of Will's videos, with a 50Ah 12V Ampere Time battery. All works well, except the whole thing has some parasitic drain, so the battery empties itself over the course of a few weeks. I measured and found there's constant draw of 0.3A. Disconnected everything to figure out what's drawing, and then just for baseline I measured amp draw between the battery poles themselves....and it's 0.3A. Wth? Is this normal? Am I measuring something wrong? What is even drawing power here, is it the internal BMS of the battery? At 0.3A the 50Ah battery will drain itself in ~150h (right?), so that's not really a viable thing to have as "backup storage" if it becomes unusable within a week. Is this normal?

What do you mean by 'between the battery poles'?

A BMS will have a parasitic draw, but 300mA does seem excessive.
I set my voltmeter to "amp" and hold the black stick to the black battery pole and the red one to the red pole. Without anything connected to the battery, it's just sitting there on my workbench by itself

I set my voltmeter to "amp" and hold the black stick to the black battery pole and the red one to the red pole. Without anything connected to the battery, it's just sitting there on my workbench by itself