diy solar

diy solar

Why is my solark 12k drawing power only from one battery while the other is in idle mode??

Lukas225

Hi there!
Im new to a solar systems and I bought complete setup for my off grid tiny house.
As I mentioned my inverter draw power only from one battery while the other is in idle mode (until the 1st one is drained) than it starts drawing power from the 2nd battery.
However they both charging at the same time.
Do you know what could cause this?
Is it a solark setting or wiring issue?
Im putting some pictures here.
I’d appreciate if someone can help.
Thanks
IMG_4410.jpegIMG_4434.jpegIMG_4436.jpeg

Seems like it’s a setting issue or preset feature of the batteries rather than an inverter issue.

One thing I would try is moving the battery leads so they’re the same distance and across each other on the busses from each other and close to the larger cables. If how the leads are arranged is an issue it could be drawing them in series vs parallel.

Seems like it’s a setting issue or preset feature of the batteries rather than an inverter issue.

One thing I would try is moving the battery leads so they’re the same distance and across each other on the busses from each other and close to the larger cables. If how the leads are arranged is an issue it could be drawing them in series vs parallel.
Ok so do you mean doing this as I marked on the picture? Thanks
IMG_4434.jpeg

Batteries can have variances in chemistry, wiring etc that could cause them to discharge at different rates even when connected in parallel.

If all your conductors are the same length then perhaps you have some balancing issues between the batteries.

Charge the batteries to 100% and make sure they continue to charge until they both report nearly the same voltage. If you have a closed loop the batteries should tell the inverter to charge/wait charge/wait over and over until they’re both at the same voltage.