diy solar

diy solar

Wife’s reaction to new battery bank

Same here, the wife works in the medical field and is super compassionate and trusting of people. I am an EE and extremely logical person with poor people skills. Our differences compliment each other and it has been a wonderful 30 years of marriage.
Boy can I relate! My wife is very social so lots of get togethers with me in tow. I couldn’t count the number of times at these parties when someone would ask what I did for a living. Tell them I’m a Systems Engineer and watch their eyes glaze over. Soon they need to go do something, anything. They just can’t relate. So I now tell them I drive a garbage truck. The conversation flows then. That they can relate. ?

But have you ever taken your wife to a gathering of fellow engineers? Truly in my element but she felt so lost because she couldn’t relate to my anyone there. She tells me she couldn’t understand most of our engineer conversations. So the shoe is on the other foot. Ah, we rarely go to engineer get togethers anymore. ?.

Tell them I’m a Systems Engineer and watch their eyes glaze over. So I now tell them I drive a garbage truck. The conversation flows then. That they can relate. ?
What is the REAL difference between a systems engineer and the driver of a garbage truck?
Both have to deal with a lot of crappy stuff from years ago that everyone would like to never see again.
I have spend years on migration projects...

What is the REAL difference between a systems engineer and the driver of a garbage truck?
Both have to deal with a lot of crappy stuff from years ago that everyone would like to never see again.
Awesome response and so true!

I was also a System Engineer for decades and I have dealt with my fair share of garbage.

How many times have you heard "Can't you just make it work without buying anything else?"