diy solar

diy solar

Wind Turbine PMA for Backup Human Powered Bicycle Generator. Looking for advice on volts, cooling, manufacture, charge controller, ect.

YahwehIsMyEl

Hello,

I am fairly new to world of pmas, and wind powered devices in general.

I will first describe what I am doing, then I will divide my questions into a few separate parts.

The concept is simple. I live off grid with solar in an aria that is known for having lots of cloudy days in the winter time. I am trying to find a way that I can produce enough electricity to charge a battery bank that I have enough to use a laptop, the internet router, and perhaps a light (about 50w/h total) on days where the solar is not producing enough.

I also do not live in an aria where hydro is an option, and I live in a valley that has barely any wind. So, as I am young and strong enough to bike for hours at a time, I turned to the idea of constructing a bike powered generator.

The actual construction of what I am making is already accounted for.

The problems I am having now come from trying to find the right motor and charge controller to use in my system.

Goal: 100w/h - 300w/h generation at decent speeds.

I will now state my questions.

A: After my research, I concluded that PMAs were the best option for efficiency in creating electricity with low "winds." I felt "low winds" were the best comparison to human power that I could find. My goal is to be as efficient as possible, so if I am using the wrong motor, please let me know.

B: AC I think is right for me, as I want to be able to have a wire running quite a distance to my battery bank with the rectifier near the batter bank, but how many volts? I have my battery bank in 12 volts, but I have heard of people getting a 24 volt pma for a 12 volt system. What are the benifits and drawbacks of doing this?