diy solar

diy solar

Wiring Advice Sought

PeteW

I'm rebuilding and therefore rewiring a 29' 1992 Excella Classic Airstream. All of my lighting, including running lights, will be 12VDC and it will all be LED. The running lights will be on their own individual circuits for the 7 pin connector. House lighting will be separate and may also be on more than one circuit. The original wiring was 14 AWG, but everything was incandescent. At this point I'm only talking about lighting. Is there any reason I want to run larger wire than 16 AWG? I'm pretty well versed in single phase 120/ 240 AC wiring, but I'm still learning DC. Where can I do some educational reading on wire gauge sizing for DC loads and circuits?

For the lighting will you be running a return wire or using the the chassis?

Generically speaking the LEDs will draw so little in comparison to the old incandescents that all the existing wiring would be oversized, but to no harm. I would leave it all in place and wait for problems to present themselves, which they may not!

DC wire sizing calculators are roughly as available as AC wire sizing calculators online. I have not looked to see if they actually recommend different things! I am newer to the AC side but i assume that DC would require a larger conductor at same voltage because it would flow 'peak' amps continuously, rather than averaging some smaller current because of the sinusoidal voltage waveform.

DC wire size calculator google results

There is no problem using 14ga
16ga is smaller but you already have 14- use it

For the lighting will you be running a return wire or using the the chassis?
You will need to consider the total ampacity of your circuits and the voltage drop over the round trip distance of the circuit.
Ancor https://www.ancorproducts.com/en/products/Wire-and-Cable/Multi-Conductor/Flat-Duplex-Cable
makes flat duplex cable that is great for this use case.