diy solar

diy solar

12v Battery Voltage too High

Adamlukegilbert

I am connecting a new 12v leisure battery to a new Sunix solar controller. The controller flashes a warning and displays 12.6v, so it seems to be too high. How would I reduce the voltage?

Previously I used a Buck converter to step the voltage down from an 18v drill battery, but the solar would not charge this setup.

Total beginner, any help would be great.

Can we get more info about the 'Sunix' solar charge controller and also how you hook up the Buck converter to the charge controller?

Bud,

Thanks for the reply. The charge controller is a simple product from eBay. I'm not sure what other information is relevant. Picture attached.

The buck converter was just inserted into the circuit, positive to positive, negative to negative. I'm very much the beginner! I could share photos if it helps understand the issue.

$_57.jpeg

Bud,

Thanks for the reply. The charge controller is a simple product from eBay. I'm not sure what other information is relevant. Picture attached.

The buck converter was just inserted into the circuit, positive to positive, negative to negative. I'm very much the beginner! I could share photos if it helps understand the issue.

View attachment 43919
How about a link to the sales page.
The SCC is a PWM that is Li compatible.
Were you using the buck comverter when getting 12.6V?

What chemistry is your leisure battery?
How many watts of panels do you have?

Link to SCC here:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/174633248068

I was not using the Buck when getting 12.6V warning. I only used the Buck to test the SCC with an 18V Li battery, but the SCC did not indicate any charging. I assume a 12V battery should not get a warning of above 12.6V.

The battery is calcium lead alloy, link here:
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Deep-Cyc...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649

The single panel is 235W, but it was not connected when getting this warning.

Does that help?