diy solar

diy solar

24V Travel trailer system check

Jracine

Hello everyone,

I am planning on a 24V system for a travel trailer and would appreciate a quick safety/any advice on changes. I think I have everything ironed out but I am new to solar stuff and I want to be 100% sure before I start buying components and I am open to suggestions. Thank you very much! Solar diagram.jpg

Attachments

• My Solar Diagram.pdf
    5.6 MB · Views: 6
Looks thorough. Nice touch with the precharge built into MP switch.

No generator?

When switching between battery 1 and 2, do you anticipate doing 1+2 in between? There might be a lot of amps if the batteries are significantly different SoC.

Or, going from battery to the other, will there be a battery disconnect in between? Not sure the SCC will be happy if pumping out a bunch of amps and have battery disconnect. Cutting solar likely a good thing is switching batteries. What will the rest of the system do with battery cut?

Last edited:
Thank you!

No generator.

I anticipate staying in 1+2, and only disconnecting a battery if something goes wrong really or if I have to take one of the banks out. It just seemed like an easy solution for having options of 1,2, or both in one switch. How do most manage 2 or more banks in parallel if they have to switch from one to the other and there is an imbalance? I had not really though about that.

That switch is advertised as "Make before break" so it should make connection to the other battery before disconnecting the first so I would anticipate the system to continue to operate without interruption if I had to switch.

How do most manage 2 or more banks in parallel if they have to switch from one to the other and there is an imbalance?
I dunno but handling that many potential amps is a good discourager. Big breaker comes to mind.