diy solar

diy solar

24v Travel Trailer System

Jracine

Hello Everyone.

I’m looking to set up a travel trailer with a solar system. I have zero solar/inverter experience however I’ve been reading and absorbing as much information as I can on solar, ESS, and inverters and this is what I’ve come up with so far. I don’t have the travel trailer yet however I want to have a plan ironed out as this will be part of the trailer purchase budget and will be installed before departing on any trips with the trailer. I want to do it right the first time. I'm looking around 20 to 25' range.

I’m not planning on full time inverter use; I plan on living off the DC systems unless I am actively using 120VAC appliances. I’m hoping that the wealth of knowledge on this forum can poke holes in my plan and help me see things I might not have considered.

Some of the things I still have to figure out and research are:

• Energy audit, I am still shopping around for a travel trailer so I don’t know 100% what the OEM equipment will draw. 12VDC compressor fridge, propane/120vac hot water tank, propane furnace will be my largest DC draws. Other than those its lights and small device charging.

• How to deal with the 12v into the trailer from tow vehicle. I’m not interested at this time to charge my battery bank from my truck’s alternator. I guess I could remove the 12v+ from the trailer’s 7 pin connector to keep my truck’s alternator from charging the trailers battery bank, however that seems like a hassle if I need to power the trailer’s 12V systems from my truck if I run into dead batteries or any unforeseen reasons. I am wondering on how feasible it would be to use something like this switch so I can pick between the 12v from my 24-12 converter or the tow vehicle’s 12v system as required? Am I overthinking this? Will the Orion 24/12-70 even allow power to back feed? The user manual on that device is very limited.