diy solar

diy solar

9000 BTU Mini Split Heat Pump Hi SEER Ratings: Innovair vs LG vs Mitsu (etc) Worth it?

MrM1

I'm Here, But I'm Not All There
I would like to run a Mini Split in my bed room as a supplement to my 3 ton and 1 ton systems, but run the mini split off grid. Space too cool for the mini split = 285 sq ft. So 9000 btu would be about right. Needs to be Cool and Heat so looking at Heat Pumps.

I have been running a gird support / off grid 24v system for the past 4 years (see my sig).

I like This post showing David Poz running the 38 SEER Innovair 9000btu unit. He is noting after it go the shop down to temp, the unit only ran at 1.75 or so amps. But I've never heard of Innovair (or many other brands for that matter).

As I really need the mini split to maintain using very low current (2 amps would be nice), I am wondering, is a mini split like the Innovair at 38 SEER really going to be worth the extra money. Will something like the Innovair 38 SEER really be that much different in current and power load than say a Mitsu 17 SEER, or a Senville LETO 19 or an LG 23.5 or a Mitsu 33 etc.

Is the Innovair a decent unit? What would be a good brand option for my design?

I'd like a 240v 9000 btu Mini Split heat pump that would maintain room temp at around 2-3 amps total (both legs) once it has brought the temp down.

My Current Solar System
- Schneider Conext SW 2024 24v inverter
- 5200w array
- 1 Midnite Solar Classic 150
- 730ah battery bank (8s3p)
- current loads: 3500wh per day.

(Also: I keep seeing 60hz mini splits listed at 230v. Will that work on 240v? Sorry, I just don't know)

Guess I am asking about brand name, reliability, and (mostly) SEER ratings. Will a 38 really be that much different than say a 21 SEER in amps for maintain a room once it has reached temp