diy solar

diy solar

AC Outlet Possibilities

redpostbox

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie at this and I am still trying to figure out a solar system that works for my future off-grid house.

1) For every sine wave power inverter (assuming it comes with one outlet slot) how many AC outlets can I 'branch out'? Just like a normal house, I would like to have a few outlets in different rooms. Does that mean I need 1 inverter for every AC outlet (which is my presumption now)?
2) If it is possible to have more than 1 AC outlet per inverter, how do I know/ calculate how many AC outlets I can have per inverter?

Many thanks!

Shaun

Welcome to the forum.

The inverters with simple plugs aren't the best for your application. Each plug is typically limited to 15A, and branching them out is messy. Better to get an inverter with an actual terminal block.

1611726352399.png

The terminal block on the right can be used to pass L N and G to a panel buss and supply the entire panel with breakers for every circuit. You'll still be limited to the peak power of the inverter, but you won't be limited by the 15A plug.

Hi snoobler,

Thank you for your reply. That was really helpful to know I should be on the lookout for an inverter with a terminal block. Do you happen to have a photo of how the L N and G would branch out to multiple outlets? I am having trouble imagining it's installation.

Now that I know it is possible to have multiple outlets with only one inverter, what should I be on the lookout for when choosing an inverter? In my limited knowledge, if the inverter says 2000w, it just means that it's the total wattage it could supply per number of electrical devices to have switched on at the same time. Am I correct?

Any other spec technicalities to look out for when choosing an inverter if my intention is to have multiple outlets?