diy solar

diy solar

An amp draw mystery

Bill Hans

Hello all.

I live very remotely with no access to grid power. I use a diesel generator without any real battery storage systems. I am in the process of adding a 48v battery system to power my house in the evenings so I can turn the generator off. Eventually, I will add solar to the system to charge the batteries, but I'm not there yet. I'm still new at this.

I recently purchased and hooked up a Sigineer M6048D 6KW inverter/charger. My generator puts out 240v through 3 conductors. 120v on each of two hot wires, plus a neutral (and a ground). That runs through a fuse box and then to a junction box that splits the power to run to a further three separate fuse boxes - one each for the barn, workshop, and house. All junctions are 240v so each fuse box receives the same power the generator puts out. Since I was only interested in running the house when the generator was off, I removed the house connection from the junction box. I then added a line from the junction box to the inverter input that requires the two hot wires and the ground (no neutral). Finally, the output of the inverter is wired back to the input of the house fuse box with both hots, a neutral, and a ground.

I have the inverter set up to only use battery power when it recognizes there is no power coming from the generator (or "utility" as the inverter calls it). If the generator is on, it presumably just passes the power straight from the generator to the house. It also charges the batteries when they need it through an Overkill Solar BMS.