diy solar

diy solar

Any rabbit/chicken owners want to QC my novel design plan?

AlaskanNoob

Solar Enthusiast
The last time I posted on this forum about a design plan, I also had no idea and no experience with the subject matter. Of course that was my plan for solar. After years of getting educated, the solar we finally installed this last summer looked absolutely nothing like my original plan. Nothing.

This should be simpler, although I am still ignorant. I have no experience raising rabbits or chickens. With my design here (very poorly drawn up to simply convey the basic idea), I am hoping to a) allow the rabbits/chickens to graze and b) protect them from the over abundance of things out here that want to eat them.

I'll show my Rabbit Run idea here. The chicken coop idea is essentially the same, except the part where the rod comes up from the ground will go through the middle of a small coop with nesting boxes (which will be wider than the run).

Rabbit Hutch.png

The idea for both is that I have a long, narrow, run that will have a motorized wheel on the outside end of it, some electric jacks, and it will rotate the entire run in a circle. The run is 100 square feet (just picked that size for now, that will likely change) and is 50 foot long and 2 foot wide. On some interval, the jacks will lift the run up off the ground (I'm not sure how yet) and the motorized wheel will drive the run along the circle for about 2 feet, and the jacks will let the run back down. The wheel(s), motor, and jacks are not shown in the sketch above, nor is the very steep metal roof or the thick mesh / chicken wire walls. Or the large mesh floor that will hopefully allow the plants to come up through it, but prevent the rabbits from getting out. No floor on the chicken version though.