diy solar

diy solar

Battery fuse size without an inverter

Sparks-n-Splinters

Hey folks!
Ive been scouring the boards and watching Will's videos as I begin to plan and assemble a small (as Will's site puts it) a minimalist set up. After weeks of off grid camping the wife and I have dialed down out power needs and have decided to drop the inverter. That being said, every bit of info I find on sizing a MRBF for the batteries seems to be based off the inverter size.

Ive got 2- Li Time 12v 100ah lifepo4 batteries which state max. continuous discharge is 100A

Those 2 will be in parallel so a 200A fuse? The DC fuse block is only rated for 100A

Did a miss a formula somewhere?

One last question as this is my first time playing with lithium batteries The instruction manual shows using buss bars for 2 batteries in parallel and I was not expecting that. So how do I figure the amp rating for the bars?

Many thanks in advance.

Overcurrent protection devices are sized based on the device or wire gauge with the lowest current rating. DC fuse block is 100A so a 100A fuse is called for unless the wiring is too small then the fuse is selected on the ampacity chart for that gauge of wire.

What is the total off all your DC loads?

Questions from someone with possibly only slightly more experience:
1. Are your devices wired directly to the battery, or is the battery going to an existing fuse block?
2. How are you distributing power?
3. How are you planning to connect/disconnect from the battery?

Inquiring minds and all that...

Questions from someone with possibly only slightly more experience:
1. Are your devices wired directly to the battery, or is the battery going to an existing fuse block?
2. How are you distributing power?
3. How are you planning to connect/disconnect from the battery?

Inquiring minds and all that...
I'm pretty much following Will's video for the minimalist set up