diy solar

diy solar

Best adhesive for no drill roof mounted panels?

Bigdaddy

Hello everyone, newbie here. I am mounting some solar panels to the roof of my cargo trailer. I do not want to drill holes in the roof. I have already purchased the glue on mounts from Rich Solar. What is the best adhesive to use so these will stay in place? i know about VHB tape. Im talking about the caulk. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• DCEF7D84-F0E1-446E-9F0D-5EFA99ADF677.jpeg
    DCEF7D84-F0E1-446E-9F0D-5EFA99ADF677.jpeg
    45.2 KB · Views: 7
Hi. Won’t try to tell you it’s the best (I’ve not tried any others) but I’ve used a product called ‘toolbox’ to stick a semi flexible panel to 17year old corrugated fibreglass canopy. Been on since August, and have done a trip around the tropics here in WA. Satisfied it’s rock solid.

Bit of a pain to work with - very thick (hard to squeeze out) and short work time, so with manual calling gun I was squeezing like heck to get the stuff out as quickly as possible, gave myself a tension headache. (Getting old eh).

Carry out a risk assessment using plastic mountings with adeshive. Without using mechanical fixings there is a chance the panels will fall off. Which has less risk, glue or bolts?
In the UK there have been many reported panel detachments and a number of serious accidents worldwide,

Plastic is a difficult material for many adhesives to bond successfully, not helped with the release agents that may have been used in the manufacturing process of the bracket. Can you be confident that long term exposure to water and UV will not degrade the plastic.

I have first hand experience of failure between the vehicle paint layers leading detachment of the mounting bracket.

Mike

i have 4 100 watt panels bolted to my ladder racks on the roof of my van.i do not trust glue.