diy solar

diy solar

BMS reading one cell incorrectly

Genawin

Hello this is my first time posting , I wondered if anyone has experienced similar ? Cell 9 of 16 x 300ah is reading up to 300mv higher on charge at 50a and 200mv lower on similar discharge than all the others which are closely balanced this indicated to me that I had a high resistance cell ,I have now replaced the cell and the problem remains so I investigated further to find that the BMS is falsely reading this cell. I also found that the correct cell voltage is getting back to the pcb so the problem appears to be the BMS itself , I have tried to identify which BMS I have and it appears to be a lot like a JBD or Heltec - the pcb is marked "VKL_01 ? , I'm able to use VKing V2.B to monitor, check history and do certain configurations but there doesn't appear to be any form of calibration to individual cell readings which doesn't surprise me , any help would be much appreciated.

IMG_20230915_094335.jpgScreenshot (184).png

It really does sound like you have confirmed the BMS is faulty, however you might want to just swap that cell and the bus bars on it to another location just to be sure.

Since the cell voltages are differential, I think it's possible that a neighboring pack could be bad. It seems unlikely, but, if it's easy, you might want to shuffle around the packs around the one that's reading bad to see if it changes anything.

Edit: Thinking about it a bit more, it's possible that the voltages are being read by two A2D banks with 8 inputs. That would put this battery at the bottom end of the second bank, so, if the reference voltage was varying for that A2D, it would likely show a result like this. That voltage would be created from the 8th battery. I don't know why that one would read correct but produce an incorrect reference voltage, but I think that's the one I would check first if I were considering the possibility of a neighboring battery being bad.

Last edited: