diy solar

Building a new 16p 48v battery + solar for my RV, some (a lot) questions

BartonB

Hey all!

I'm going to build a 15KWH system for my RV, so I can work remote reliably
I'm a beginner, and have a few questions,

Battery:
1. What are the current most recommended diy box? laying flat
2. BMS - why is the new Inverter JK-BMS such a big deal? until now BMS warnet able to communicate with the inverter? even though they have the com ports?
3. Recommended BMS? What BMS does the EG4 PowerPro has? Should I maybe just use the Victron BMS? I'm planning on a Victron inverter
4. Active balancer? our good dude Andy from Off-Grid Garage said something about them always working and that it's counterproductive or something? see here
5. Should I rely on the DIY BOX supplied fuse? should I get a circuit breaker? the total emergency stop of the EG PowerPro looks cool
6. Fan in the cabinet it will be in yay/nay. (fan will make things a it more complicated for me in the RV)
7. How does EG4 PowerPro enable 8000 cycles? I've only seen 6000 cycles batteries

Solar:
1. My roof is 6.5m long, 2.3m width - what is the most optimal solar configuration to get the most juice out of this area?
2. Is there a way to have a setup when solar power is used directly and only excess goes to the battery? to save cycles. all the current configurations I see are just mppt -> battery -> inverter
2.1 - Hear me out guys - Enphase micro inverters + shore charger that goes into the battery and get it's input from the micro inverters, what do you think of this monstrosity?
3. Type of solar? Ideally I would want to extract the most, even in low sun light, is making my system 48v will prevent that?

That's all the dilemmas I currently have, hope it's ok that I asked all of the questions and appreciate your help in advance!

Last edited:
I'll reply with what I'm fairly confident are correct answers.
Hey all!

I'm going to build a 15KWH system for my RV, so I can work remote reliably