diy solar

diy solar

Bus bar

Traviss224

I am looking at building my own server rack using AOlithium batteries. From what I gathered from Will's videos, he didn't like the small gauge wire.

So my question: if I build a rack out wood (I'm a woodworker) and got copper bar stock. Take the bar stock and made two bus bars out of it. (One on each side)

Could I take those cables that come with the ao lithium battery, cut them, install lugs and run them individually to the bus bar? Then run a main + and - off of that to the inverter?

Could I take those cables that come with the ao lithium battery, cut them, install lugs and run them individually to the bus bar? Then run a main + and - off of that to the inver
Pictures would help, specs even more.

When trying to upsize cables, I’ve had issues with lugs being too big or wires too big for terminals. I’ve even had problems of proper sized wire not fitting because the insulation around the wires was too thick.

The bigger wires will fix the small wire problem, but not sure it’ll fit.

My comment is this and it will be politically criticized on this site.

Battery racks are not supposed to be made out of wood. Wood is flammable and placing batteries on wooden racks is against code in many urban areas. From what I have come across on this forum, many persons live in rural areas and just do whatever they want.

You can get an adjustable steel shelf from Costco, amazon, HD, Menards where each shelf can hold up to 1000 lbs. Lots of batts can go on those and it won't burn in a fire.

Last edited:
Pictures would help, specs even more.

When trying to upsize cables, I’ve had issues with lugs being too big or wires too big for terminals. I’ve even had problems of proper sized wire not fitting because the insulation around the wires was too thick.

The bigger wires will fix the small wire problem, but not sure it’ll fit.