diy solar

diy solar

Can I top balance a 72v pack in three 24v sections and really be balanced?

shawnm

I'm building a 72v system for a vehicle application. I watched the videos and digested the wiki (which is great). I have a 30v charger that can do 8 cells in series. the LiFePo4 cells are new and are all at 3.25 right now.

Rather than buy a 72v charger that I will probably never use again, will do it in the 3 chunks do what I want, then I can wire the 24 in series with a BMS and be done.

I'm new to all of this so any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Bottom line: Yes. Just make sure to top balance them to the same voltage and wait till the top balance current is zero.

In fact, some folks on the forum advocate top balancing one cell at a time. (I am not in that camp, but it can work).

How are you going to charge them when they are in service?

If you have access to the cell terminals when the battery is in its final configuration, you are better off only assembling it once.

Then series charge until one cell reaches its high voltage cutoff before top charging each cell individually (without disassembling the pack)

If you have assembled the pack, the available capacity is acceptable, and the self discharge of the cells isn’t greater than the balancing ability of the BMS - it is pointless to top balance.

Scroll through the many threads in this forum to see the pitfalls associated with needlessly reassembling your cells.
(mainly accidental shorts / damaged terminals)

How are you going to charge them when they are in service?

If you have access to the cell terminals when the battery is in its final configuration, you are better off only assembling it once.

Then series charge until one cell reaches its high voltage cutoff before top charging each cell individually (without disassembling the pack)