diy solar

diy solar

Can I trust Chinese Amazon alternatives

Skipper Jon

Hi there,

Total newbie. Absolutely no technical expertise. Just trying to get a little bit of input from those with experience.

A bit of background. My wife and I live on board a 45ft sailing yacht with our three cats full time. We’re originally from the U.K. but are currently berthed in Montenegro. After 18 months full time cruising, we’ve decided to replace our existing lead acid battery bank with lithium. This is a no brainier now that the cost has reduced significantly. However, we are on a budget so I still need to shop around. I have very little technical expertise but my friend is an electrical engineer. He will be helping me with the install.

We have 2x 370w mono panels routed through a Victron MPPT. We also have a 500w wind turbine via a separate MPPT. Both charge sources are connected to a Victron Multiplus 3000 charger/inverter. I anticipate a domestic bank of 800ah LiFePo4, with 200ah lead acid service bank (for short but high load windlass and bowthruster operations) and 110ah lead acid starter battery.

Originally, I liked the idea of building my own batteries but then I saw Will's video about budget complete batteries like Chins and Ampere Time. Unfortunately, Amazon does not deliver to Montenegro so I suppose my first question is whether I can have confidence in buying from Aliexpress or Alibaba? There seems to be a lot of price variation even when the technical specifications are quite similar. This suggests there are quality issues to say the least. From what I’ve seen, the SOK and, possibly Basen, look pretty good.

Any guidance would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.?

Pretty hard to get LFP on fire. Other lithium chemistries not so much…. Many boats through the years have caught fire due to poorly maintained LA systems.