diy solar

diy solar

Can solar panels really be this cheap?

Don't buy battery voltage panels unless you never want to go anywhere with your system. I have a dozen 100W panels I no longer use. New 250W grid tie panels are only 50% more.

To start, I'm a solar newb! I just saw these posted on Amazon. Can solar panels really be this cheap? Even for 100W panels these seem too good to be true.
That is $0.80/watt.

Take a look at these from Signature Solar: https://signaturesolar.com/boviet-solar-370watts-bi-facial-bvm6610-370-hc-bf/ notice the price per watt under the panel price, $0.462/watt. Most larger panels are cheaper per watt than the small panels.

I own 8 Renogy 100W panels on my truck camper. Those were used because I only needed a few panels, the price included shipping and the panel dimensions fit the roof just right. I would have preferred something cheaper per watt, but sometimes you have to pay more to get something the right size.

I bought a few 100 watt panels to experiment. I found a closeout for $60 each with free shipping and bought 4. After running them a few weeks I bought a few more. Then came across a deal for $50 each and bought some more. You can find large panels for less per watt, but once you add shipping they will likely be more than 50¢ per watt.

Those signature solar panels are a good deal but you must buy at least 10 and shipping for a pallet of panels isn't cheap. Not such a good deal if you only need 1000 watts. So. If you only need a few hundred watts there is nothing wrong with 100 watt panels, but you wouldn't want to cover your roof with them.

Try craigslist etc for solar installers. They buy by the pallet and it is panel of the month for them. They always have some left over and the next purchase from a different manufacturer physically and electrically don't match the next purchase. If a really small installer who buys from a distributor, him adding a few extra panels gets his cost down.

USA prices :)

solar.jpg