diy solar

diy solar

Cell Over Charging in JK BMS

karthik_bkv

Hello All,

When charging the 8s 100Ah lithium-ion battery with a JK BMS with an active balancer, it's noticed that the cell voltage difference is too high, leading to 2-3 cells being overcharged and triggering a cut-off in the BMS. Is this expected behavior, and are there any solutions to fix it?

I'm completely new to Lithium ion, used lead acid in the past

Attached the cell voltage difference as a reference

Attachments

• IMG_20240326_162759.jpg
    IMG_20240326_162759.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 39
  • IMG_20240326_162738.jpg
    IMG_20240326_162738.jpg
    92.6 KB · Views: 34
  • Screenshot_2024-03-26-16-19-05-529_com.jktech.bms-edit.jpg
    Screenshot_2024-03-26-16-19-05-529_com.jktech.bms-edit.jpg
    157 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG-20240320-WA0007.jpg
    IMG-20240320-WA0007.jpg
    243.6 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG-20240320-WA0009.jpg
    IMG-20240320-WA0009.jpg
    158.2 KB · Views: 34
Last edited:
..........Err....did you top balance those 8 cells before putting it in series?

If not....you gonna need to keep the voltage constant at 27V and activate the balancer early at 3.4V.
Once the deviation starts to drop to less than 20mV, increase the voltage slowly to 27.2V, repeat, 27.4v, finally move to 27.6V.

I got a feeling your JKBMS is 1A active balancer model.....with 1A balance current....it gonna take quite a time to balance them all.

..........Err....did you top balance those 8 cells before putting it in series?

If not....you gonna need to keep the voltage constant at 27V and activate the balancer early at 3.4V.
Once the deviation starts to drop to less than 20mV, increase the voltage slowly to 27.2V, repeat, 27.4v, finally move to 27.6V.

I got a feeling your JKBMS is 1A active balancer model.....with 1A balance current....it gonna take quite a time to balance them all.
Hi Ashley,
Thanks for your response

Yes the cells were top balance before putting them,

BMS is 0.6A balancer

Hi Ashley,