diy solar

diy solar

Circuit diagram for grid tie to backfeed for net metering

nc-diyer

very noob here, still in process of learning things. I am trying to put together what is needed to build a grid tied solar system for a single detached home here in ottawa where there is snow for 5 months.

Our monthly average is 600kwh in winter, and 1200kwh in summer months where we have AC turned on.

However I could not find a circuit diagram or similar so I can come up with a list of everything that I need for my install to compute a estimate.

Also for my use case, can y'all advise if it is best to go with string or micro inverter setup?

Microinverter lets you have any number of panels oriented any which way, so it is popular with installers.
Depending on inverter and panel wattage, may clip production under ideal conditions.
Doesn't require working with hazardous voltages beyond single PV panel and final grid connection.

String inverters are lower cost and higher efficiency, although if RSD is required that adds complexity and cost so not as much savings.
Each string should have all panels oriented same direction.
You can size strings to avoid clipping, or to clip for flatter production.
You can parallel multiple strings of same length, optionally of different orientation for flatter production with less clipping.
Although MC4 connectors are touch safe, you can have access to wires or screws with hazardous DC voltages and AC voltages.

The stuff needed is brand dependent. Microinverters I think have support electronics and custom cables, see block diagrams on their data sheets.
String inverters, data sheet should show block diagram. Combiner box for multiple strings will have documentation.
Your utility may show typical one-line diagrams from meter to PV panels, with a disconnect switch that may be optional or required.

Sounds good, thank you very much for the intro.

A few followups,
1) what is RSD, how can I find out if RSD is required?