diy solar

diy solar

Connecting 20 wind turbines in series to MPPt ?!

elvis_asaftei

I am searching for a way to connect 20 wind turbines to 48V battery bank, we have 10 wind turbines of 48v and 10 of 24V both are 10A wind turbines. Because distance is 100m to battery I wanted to connect output from wind controller in series and go to 350V input of standard MPPT solar inverter.
This seems it is not working because 2 or 3 of them always get locked and do not spin and also speed is not correctly optimized.

I wanted to have this setup to save a huge cost for 10 cables x 100m x 10amps

And use only 2 cables at 350V -400V with working mppt from 120v to 450V .

Anyone has any idea if this setup can work with addition of other diodes ?

My solution remaining to do is that I will have 2 very large wires from 48V battery pack to the wind turbines and use one wind controller for each wind turbine .

Any suggestions how to connect 20 wind turbines ?

Disclaimer, I am not an expert in wind turbines per se (done lots of reading and studying about it), I am good with generators and alternators in general, but never yet toyed with my own wind turbine application, so just saying...

In my eyes, I see sometimes, there is called 'the highly or most optimal way', and 'the cheapest way', to get a job done, and a balance of those two ends of the spectrum.

I see you are most likely attempting to balance and find the best way (perhaps without going broke), to get things best that they can be, but at the most reasonable cost.

That said...

In my opinion, I see series wiring to be problematic at best (for the reasons you had mentioned), as in you say 2 or 3 can lock up and kill the whole chain... If I did try to run series (like maybe on the 24v turbines), I would only try maybe in pairs only (only 2 in a string, and physically mounted close to each other), as it would get more problematic, the more turbines which are involved in a string.