diy solar

diy solar

Daly BMS, RS485 connection to a Growatt inverter

I'm also interested in your solutions,

I will give it a try using solar assistant and will keep you updated.

Also very interested in this, maybe a PCB could be made to function as a gateway between growatt protocol and other BMS protocols.

Hello, I am currently starting to make a "translator" for daly smart bms to be able to communicate with a growatt inverter by emulating a pylontech lfp battery. If anyone has been able to identify what the inverter asks when switching to Li mode, I would like to help. I am not an expert programmer but I have good standard knowledge.

A total lack of standardization is the root of all evil. LOL!! Facing the same hurdle trying to connect my VNSZNR (Daly knockoff) BMS to my Growatt 6000. At least the Growatt manual clearly indicates the pin positions for both RS485 and CAN protocols. The BMS doesn't even have an RJ45 connection. Its com port is a 5-pin micro mini JST?? plug and there is NO indication of the pin assignments for either protocol. To make matters worse, neither Daly nor VNSZNR publish the specific pin assignments anywhere that I can find. I'll obviously have to build a custom cable with 5 pin micro mini on one end and RJ45 on the other. IF ANYONE knows the pin assignments on the BMS and has time to build a "plug and play" coms cable for this application, well... let's just say there is a serious market gap for such an item. Any help in accomplishing this goal is greatly appreciated.

does this help?

Be careful the serial port having RX/TX/GND needs a UART>RS485 converter because the hardware communication RS485 is 2 wire half duplex with termination resistor and different voltage compared with UART (0-5V logic, full duplex)