diy solar

diy solar

DC breaker wiring - weird diagram

cansel

Hi All,
I'm scratching my head trying to figure out how this 20a DC breaker is wired from the diagram on the unit. It's a Suntree SL7-63 rated for 800vdc. I'm a beginner so was expecting the supply to go in at the top and the load to come out from the bottom but this doesn't look that straight forward. Does this mean that only the negative cable connects to the load or am I missing something? Any help is appreciated. In the manual it shows several wiring options but the one I have is 800vdc so I assume only those two options will be correct.E78A847B-13D1-48A8-9D70-E52BD9BB9D96.jpeg

Attachments

• 4DF8E701-9BE4-40EC-B77A-8965B500A53A.png
    4DF8E701-9BE4-40EC-B77A-8965B500A53A.png
    212.9 KB · Views: 3
In order to get a higher voltage rating they are saying to put breakers in series.

For a switch rating of 440V DC or 550V DC you can put the + and negative in one side and the load on the other side.
1697950180019.png
Since the first picture set shows the load on both sides, we know the breaker is not sensitive to polarity.

You can use the two-pole switch to get a 800V DC rating by putting the two breakers in a series.
1697950213902.png
However, in this configuration, you are only switching one leg. What is happening here is that there are now two places where the circuit opens. This effectively doubles the contact gap, giving the switch a higher ability to snuff any arc that forms. Notice, however, that the voltage does not double. Clearly, the physics of the voltage snubbing in the breaker has more factors than just the size of the contact gap.

Note: The company probably sells a tabbed busbar/Jumper that fits into the two connectors on one side so you don't have to use a piece of wire for the series connection... the breaker may even come with it.)