diy solar

diy solar

DIY "DC Coupled Multimode System" and home efficiency upgrades.

rebelrider.mike

I live in a 1941 cinder block house. Its all-electric; no natural gas hookup.
Back.jpg
My energy usage varies from 800-5,000kWh per month depending on the time of year.

I've decided to "burn the candle at both ends" and work on increasing my house's efficiency as well as trying to be less dependent on the grid. I've been working on the efficiency side for many years, and have made some progress:
  • 19 single pane windows have been replaced with modern double pane windows.
  • Kitchen exterior door was made of a single sheet of plywood, and some framing, the window was a single pane sheet of plastic, and water leaked into the basement whenever it rained. Well, that's been replaced with a modern insulated door with a double pane window. Also, the door frame was replaced. No more leaks!
  • P5020003a.jpg
  • The front exterior door is very old and was in need of repairs. Rather than replace it, I took it down and refurbished it. Many layers of old paint was removed, and damaged areas were replaced with new wood. The plan is to improve the door frame too, and add a storm door.20210707_045414a.jpg20210707_045443a.jpg
There's plenty of other things to do to help the house's efficiency. There's lots of insulating to do. The attic has no ventilation. The exterior door in the basement... well, the whole section of wall in that area needs to be replaced. I've just gotten a couple bids to replace my electric furnace with a heat pump. I'm also looking into a heat pump water heater. Those are the really big impact things I can do.