diy solar

diy solar

DIY solar generator to run power tools: start surge miter saw issue

VincentBuffalo

I would like to build a solar generator using a 100ah LifePO4 battery and a 2000w invertor (4000w surge). It's a temporary situation as I am building a house and will ultimately be connected to the grid. The 100ah battery + 2000w inverter should be fine for what I need except that I would love to run my miter saw and circular saw with it.

I measured the surge current on my miter saw at 40amps and continuous at 8 amps. The battery can handle 1200w continuous and 2400w surge so with 4800w surge it won't work. I considered the following options:

--> Upgrade to a 3000w (6000w surge) inverter with 2x100ah batteries in parallel --> easy option but too expensive, I might be better off buying a battery miter saw

--> Use the miter saw with a GS10 Soft Starter (plug in). Not sure if it would work but @$130 it's much cheaper

I am a beginner so any comments would be appreciated, thank you!!

Surge is VERY misleading on some models. If the inverter is a high-frequency type (it's not heavier than crap), the surge is essentially meaningless as the duration is so crazy short, it's not useful in motor starting.

Bigger inverters also tend to have higher self-consumption consuming more of your capacity just by being on.

3000W @ 12V is going to require some pretty beefy wires.

This piece of heavy iron:

Has a true 3X surge capacity. It's not particularly efficient, and it has a high self-consumption, BUT it can be ordered in 12, 24 and 48V options. If you look around, you can probably find a 2kW version that would also suffice with its 6kW surge.

100Ah is pretty measly, and as you've discovered, it's current limited. You may not be able to rely on the "surge" rating of the battery either.

Note that your 100Ah battery can only power your miter saw for about 45 minutes before it's discharged to near empty.