diy solar

diy solar

DIY Solar Plans - Is this a safe setup?

Solar User

Hello all,

I am relatively new to solar power projects and I just wanted to see if anyone with a little more experience saw any issues with my diagram. I am wanting to get a Victron 150/45 Tr set up to charge batteries (I have several 12.8V, 100 Ah batteries). I inserted bus bars and used heavier guage wire from the battery so that I could add on a 2000 watt inverter and some other items at a later time. Just wanting to get any opinions before spending money on all of the components to build the setup. Thanks for any input.

1703114256759.png

Thermal fuse/breaker should be 125% of max continuous current. (Magnetic/hydraulic doesn't need as much margin.) So 45A SCC ought to have 60A minimum OCP. Avoid cheap ones that may overheat and not actually work at their rating.

I think Blue Sea is (much!) more highly regarded than T-Tocas

But that is still a thermal-only breaker, slow trip.
Some are thermal-magnetic, some magnetic-hydraulic.
Look for non-polarized breakers.

Are your batteries lead-acid, or LiFePO4?
I see you have 200A fuse on the terminal.
There should be OCP that has AIC rating as high as short-circuit current of battery, at the operating voltage.

I think Blue Sea is (much!) more highly regarded than T-Tocas

But that is still a thermal-only breaker, slow trip.
Some are thermal-magnetic, some magnetic-hydraulic.
Look for non-polarized breakers.

Are your batteries lead-acid, or LiFePO4?
I see you have 200A fuse on the terminal.
There should be OCP that has AIC rating as high as short-circuit current of battery, at the operating voltage.
Thanks for the suggestion on the breaker. I found this one available on Amazon https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004XXOW0E/ref=sw_img_1?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&th=1. I have multiple 12.8V 100Ah LiFePO4 batteries if that provides additional food for thought.

"
Interrupt Capacity
information.png
3000A @ 48V
"