diy solar

diy solar

DIY System to charge 2 Tesla Cars - what is best value?

FloridaSunSolar

I am new to solar but have been thoroughly involved reading about options to charge our new electric vehicles.

We live in West/Central Florida and get plenty of sun. HOA limits the number of panels on the roof due to being visible from the street.

Therefore, I am interested in a system that would mostly only handle charging two cars (not the house). 2 Tesla Model Y's.

I am considering our back roof and a pergola over pool for the panels.

One vehicle drives 50 miles a day and charges every other. Second vehicle uses half that.

How many panels recommended? (my calculation was about 12)
What is the most cost-effective battery option?

Is there links to current available equipment to explore this DIY option?

P.S.: I will have the hire an electrician/electrical engineer to make any build, I just want to see what the components really cost on a conservative basis. Not looking for name brand like Tesla build.

16-400w panels at 70% production for 5hrs/day is 22.4k
At 4kwh/mile that put you at around 80-85 miles per day of range
If you level 2 charge you will need a split phase inverter. With enough capacity to charge at your desired amps. Say maybe a solark 8k, 12k or maybe a more budget oriented option
Then probably the equivalent of 2-3 eg4 power pro batteries
At least in napkin math is how it would make sense for me

i charge mostly overnight as we are only home from about 9pm - 8am.

This will be the big challenge.

In order to charge at night from the solar power collected during the daytime, 100% of this power will need to be stored in a battery pack. Not just a small one.

Most likely there won't always be sufficient power collected, so the pack will also need to be charged via the grid ( at least sometimes )

In many parts of the US, the price of electricity varies depending on time of day or during peak vs off peak related aspects.