diy solar

diy solar

Does Open circuit voltage multiply by number of panels?

Bugout1

My growatt inverter manual says that open circuit voltage my not exceed 145 volts DC.
So for a renogy 300 watt, 24 volt panel, the open circuit voltage is 38.80. Since I'm running a 48 volt system, I would need 3 of them to get to 72 volts, above the 60 volt minimum of the MPPT voltage range.
My question is, does that 38.8 volts Open circuit also triple with three panels in series? while that only comes to 116 volts if it does, It would be nice to know if it would be a problem should I grow my system.

Yes ... panels in series add voltage but current stays the same.

Panels in parallel add current .... but voltage stays the same. If you add on in the future you may be able to do a series / parallel combination.

Last edited:
my understanding is if you run 3 panels in series and it comes out to 116v and you cant exceed 145v then you should be ok. I may be wrong though as im fairly new to looking at this stuff. I plan on getting a 48v Growatt and running 3 arrays of 3 panels in series at 120ish v with 9.68 amps each array. I plan on using a combiner box so im not sure if that changes the equation or not. Im very bad at math so i could be horribly wrong.

Yes every panel you add in series will adds to the Voc. You also need to account for increased VOC below 25*C / 77*F.

Voc x 1.25 is a conservative way to ballpark it, or you can do the math for your specific panels based on the datasheet or use a table like this:

full

For your system, once you get to 3 in series, the simplest way to expand will be to add parallel strings. Once you get to 3 or more parallel strings you need to add individual fuses for each string. At 2 or less you just need to make sure the wire of each string can handle the current of both strings

Yes every panel you add in series will adds to the Voc. You also need to account for increased VOC below 25*C / 77*F.