diy solar

diy solar

Eg4 3000 EHV and solar charging question.

RubeSolar

Hello! Total newbie question here I'm sure but I've done research and can't figure out if I'm doing something wrong or not.

So here is my smol boi setup.
Eg4 3000ehv 48v
Eg4 LL pro 100ah 48v battery
4 santan 250w panels
Panels specs are:
  • Open circuit voltage (VOC): 37.6 V
  • Max power voltage (VMP): 30.3 V
  • Short circuit current (ISC): 8.85 A
  • Max power current: 8.27 A
Each panel is pretty close to spec. Lowest panel is 37.2 v and 8.5a SCC

In series not connected to the invterer I get 135 ish v and 8.1 amps. (I covered them all with sheets to disconnect them)

As soon as hook them up to the inverter everything drops. Inverter shows an input of 121v and a max of 4a. The time from my measurements to connecting to the inverter is like 20 seconds at noon so the sun didn't change.

Am I missing something? I've got the settings of the inverter mostly at default save for Max ac input which is at 15a.

So yeah is this normal or am I missing something dumb?

Thank you!

Last edited:
Inverter shows an input of 121v
Your Max power voltage is 30.3v. multiply that by the 4x panels and you get 121v. seems correct to me.

The reason you were getting a higher voltage before connecting to the inverter is because you were getting an Open circuit voltage. This is the voltage when there is no Load applied. The inverters MPPT charge controller acts as a Load when it is pulling power from the panels.

I realize the 121v * 4a, is only about 500w, not close to the 1000w the panels are rated at.
Did you leave the panels plugged into the inverter for some time to see if the output changed at all?

There will always be some inefficiencies.
The panels dont work as well when they are hot. Im guessing they were hot since you said it was Noon and it sounds like it was a pretty sunny day.
There is also the angle of the sun, loss in the wires, etc.