diy solar

diy solar

EG4 8kW Hybrid Inverter - my impression after 30 days use.

McRod

Solar Enthusiast
Ok, so I went and purchased the EG4 8kw hybrid AIO inverter from SS. I am going to give you my impressions upfront with only 30 days.

Bottom line: It's a quality unit with dependable performance in the capacity that I am using it. Worthy of your purchase consideration.

Picture of the unit in operation paired with 3 x EG4 LL v2 lithium batteries (which deserve their own review).

IMG_20230128_090126.jpg

First off, my tiny home is 100% off grid. The nearest utility connection is 1.5 miles away. Estimated cost to run power is about $80,000 US.

Cost for whole house solar system, self installed was ~$10,000.

I am not an electrician or a solar installer, but have been using various off grid solar systems exclusively since 2016 using various Magnum Energy and Victron inverters and charge controllers.

Ease of installation. The manual covered the exact steps needed to insure communication from the batteries to the inverter. I like the use of ferrule terminals on the cabling. The ground bussbar was the only issue needing modification as it requires ring terminals to attach and the bar is behind the main cable inputs.

The unit casing is well built from steel, not aluminium or plastic. Although it's heavy (90+ lbs?) I was able to mount it by myself. Two people would be better. It came with the correct mounting bolts. The unit comes with 4 separate PV inputs of 3000w each, so you won't need a PV combiner box. I question if a PV disconnect is needed either since the unit has a PV disconnect built in. The manual says to use one, so you can see one in my picture, meant for two strings. The unit can handle 4 PV strings at 3000w each string (12 amps per string) for a total of 12,000 watts PV input. Minimum PV voltage per string is 120v, max is 500v.