diy solar

diy solar

EG4 F80 Fault Code fixed

marksrig

Just passing through this old world.
So I want to start by saying I'm a noob and am only posting this because after searching for a fix and not finding it, I believe I resolved it and want it out there for others to discover. For you veterans, yea I know this will be obvious to you. This is my first solar setup so don't roast me too bad.

So I have 2 EG4 6500ex inverters 180* phased with 3 eg4 Lifepower4 batteries and 12 460 watt panels ground mounted about 135 feet from the inverters. This setup is just meant as a backup generator and isn't connected to the grid at all. My intention was to be able to plug my 50A extention cord into where my gas generator was connected and use the solar in the event I cannot get gas or the generator is down for service.

After installing everything and starting it up, everything worked pretty well. It was later in the day and the panels were outputting about 1kw each string. There are 2 strings on this array and I had both going into 2p1. I figured I would leave 2p2 pv inputs open for a later array I have planned. So the setup worked for the times I turned it on and on battery alone, I was able to pump 10KW into the house no problem. I wanted to test them charging and on a load so I turned on my heat pump and lights. When I was next to the inverters after they had been running for 3 hours or so, the fan started to go much faster, then slow, then fast again untin 2p2 faulted F80 and eventually shutdown. It did this again after restarting. It even did it after disconnecting all my loads as long as the inverters were on. I tried several things including twisting the phasing cables and even putting ferrite cores around each leg to help with noise. I also updated all the firmware on the inverters and the batteries. ( This was a good idea anyway ) Nothing fixed it.