diy solar

diy solar

EPEVER Tracer AN Series damaged with LiFePO4 if not using dry contact connection to inverter?

Norwasian

I'm finalizing my design, and already have two EPEVER Tracer 8420AN units planned to handle one string of panels each in conjunction with an LVTOPSUN inverter on a third string of panels with all three connected to a 51.2V, 280Ah LiFePO4 powerwall battery. As I'm studying the manual for the EPEVER units, I see this:

When the lithium battery and the inverter are used together, connect the
controller's (Load) dry contact to the inverter's start-stop dry contact. Otherwise,
the controller may be damaged
[EPEVER MPPT Solar Charge Controller User Manual, p. 13]

I don't even understand this. I thought the dry contact was for starting a generator. Why would it be connected to the inverter? And why would the Tracer be damaged if this connection does not exist? And if this is the case, how could anyone connect two Tracer units to one inverter in this manner? And, finally, what cable(s) would be used for this connection?

Is this for real?

Do any of you use a Tracer AN with a LiFePO4 battery? If so, are you using this dry contact connection?

The EPEVER manual is difficult to understand. I think @Browneye might know the answers I need, but I as I continue to study, I just have more questions.

1) Will the unit actually be damaged with a LiFePO4 battery? If so why and/or under what conditions?
2) What happens if running two EPEVER Tracer 8420AN charge controllers side-by-side without using the PAL-ADP-50AN Parallel Adapter? Will something break?
3) Where do I connect the inverter negative? to the Tracer's LOAD connector, or to the battery?

I hope someone can help to clarify before I do it all wrong and ruin something.

Will the unit actually be damaged with a LiFePO4 battery?
Perhaps if the BMS shuts down the battery. Experience indicates this rarely occurs. Other controllers, Victron for example operate happily under BMS shutdown.