diy solar

diy solar

Freezer as Ice thermal storage air conditioning

DrakeTruber

Here’s an idea for off grid air conditioning. An air conditioner could run directly off solar during the day to cool our small insulated bedroom. Then, at night, it would be awesome to have ice stored from a solar powered freezer outside, that we can use to blow cold air directly onto occupants of the bedroom at night. Thus, no need for expensive batteries for cooling and a good backup in case the bedroom temperature isn’t exactly where we want it. The fancy name we can slap onto this is ice storage air conditioning: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ice_storage_air_conditioning

What are your thoughts/advice on this? I have no experience with HVAC so any feedback on how to handle the details would be invaluable

Attachments

• A5E1A819-86E2-4150-BA55-539E398C794E.jpeg
    A5E1A819-86E2-4150-BA55-539E398C794E.jpeg
    84 KB · Views: 12
Storing the ice inside the cooled space would make more sense in regard to the heat gain on the ice. If you could move frozen containers of ice from the outside freezer to the inside, then just blow air over them if you want to better cold the room. You could swap out containers from yesterday, putting them back in the freezer to freeze the next day.

I’ve thought of similar ideas. My concern is the daily task becoming an inconvenience, and also the amount of ice weighing down our “RV”. Also, having the freezer inside the structure would heat it slightly. You bring up an excellent concern with heat gain outside. Perhaps thicker insulation, maybe using an ice cream freezer or something with better insulation properties. Was also thinking of drilling two holes in the top of the chest for insulated ducts to connect

Here's another thread that discusses this as well:

And searching for "frankencooler" will yield a lot of products along this line.