diy solar

diy solar

Hello from Nevada

Nevadablue

I’m a retired engineer/mechanic/miner living in the high desert in Nevada. My wife and I are full time caregivers for our DAV Son.
I’m in the process of building two small solar power systems to insure that we have heat and cooling and a small amount of refrigeration.

The first system is partly in place and consists of an inverter/charger and battery bank at this point. It is situated next to one of our swamp coolers (high desert is dry and evaporative coolers work well and have lots of advantages here) and our pellet stove. Both units have low power requirements. This system will eventually have solar panel strings and will be asked to run a small refrigerator. (Maybe within a couple of weeks for that development)
Currently the battery bank consists of four 200 amp Renogy AGM batteries. These will be moved to the second (trailer) system when the six 100 amp Chins lithium batteries arrive.

A9BB6D9F-D7DD-4C86-8676-2188DCBF260F.jpeg

The batteries are now enclosed in a wooden box so that I can stack bags of pellets for the stove. The solar panels will be mounted on the deck outside the window above the inverter.

The second system is trailer mounted and designed to provide water to the house from our well and storage tank. It could also be called upon to provide power for the second swamp cooler in the house, in case of an emergency. The water system trailer will power a 24 volt submersible pump that will live in a 3000 gallon storage tank and pump to the house if/when necessary. The system will also eventually power a 24 volt motor to drive the hand pump in the well. The trailer will also have a propane fired generator to power the Grundfos 1hp submersible soft start variable speed pump that is in the well. Redundancy… must have water anywhere and for sure in the desert.

Please be patient with me, I’m 75 and move slowly these days. (Rode hard and put away wet too often)

Reactions: ...